Chairmanship of the Organization of Turkic States is held for one (calendar) year by the Member State of the Organization, rotated according to the English alphabetical order of the official names of the States.

The President of the Member State holding the Chairmanship acts as Chairperson-in-Office. (and the functions of the Chairmanship-in-Office is exercised by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of that State.)

During the Astana Summit held in November 2023, the Republic of Uzbekistan handed over the Chairmanship to the Republic of Kazakhstan until the next Summit to be held in 2024 in Kyrgyzstan.

Current Chairperson-in-Office of the Organization of Turkic States is H.E. Kasım-Jomart Tokayev, President of the Republic of Kazakhstan.